Return to site

Game of Thrones season 2

The shooting for the second season took place between July 25 and December 12, 2011. On 1 April 2012, the series premiered on the American HBO went. The second season is (just like the first season) of 10 episodes and is based on the second book in the A Song of Ice and Fire series, A Clash of Kings.

The majority of the filming took place in Northern Ireland, Croatia and Iceland. The Paint Hall studio in Belfast again acted as home base. Season 2 had a budget that was 15% higher than that of the first season (+ / – $ 69 million).


Below is an overview of the main new cast members of the second Game of Thrones season:

  • Carice van Houten as Melisandre
  • Stephen Dillane as Stannis Baratheon
  • Liam Cunningham as Davos Seaworth
  • Gwendoline Christie as Brienne Of Tarth
  • Natalie Dormer as Margaery Tyrell
  • Tom Wlaschiha as Jaqen H’ghar
  • Patrick Malahide as Balon Greyjoy
  • Gemma Whelan as Yara (Asha) Greyjoy
  • Oona Chaplin as Talisa Maegyr
  • Robert Pugh as Craster
  • Hannah Murray as Gilly
  • Simon Armstrong as Qhorin Half Hand
  • Nonso Anozie as Xaro Xhoan Daxos
  • Michael McElhatton as Roose Bolton
  • Lucian Msamati as Salladhor Saan


  1. The North Remembers, directed by Alan Taylor
  2. The Night Lands, directed by Alan Taylor
  3. What Is Dead May Never Die, directed by Alik Sakharov
  4. Garden of Bones, directed by David Petrarca
  5. The Ghost of Harrenhal, directed by David Petrarca
  6. The Old Gods and the New, directed by David Nutter
  7. A Man Without Honor, directed by David Nutter
  8. The Prince of Winterfell, directed by Alan Taylor
  9. Blackwater, directed by Neil Marshall
  10. Valar Morghulis, directed by Alan Taylor
All Posts

Almost done…

We just sent you an email. Please click the link in the email to confirm your subscription!

OKSubscriptions powered by Strikingly